AAA Conference Day 2

Woke up very early and went walking along the prominade by the river. Then went for coffee and a muffin, read the paper and listened to the coffee shop (Christmas) music which eventually drove me out. Then I went shopping and got breakfast for tomorrow, drinks and fruit and salads for supper tonight. Got a bit lost, regained my geography and then went over to the conference late morning for book browsing.

Book browsing was flustrating. So many books – got a bit overloaded with it all. Found one or two to get from the library. Met an old aquaintaince of mine from Philly and chatted till time for the afternoon’s round of seminars.

I attended COME HELL OR HIGH WATER: LEGACIES AND LANDMARKS IN THE CULTURES OF ENERGY which was excellent. I skipped out near the end to catch “ANTHROPOCENE” / TERRAFORMATION: THE PLANET AS TECHNICAL PRACTICE which was probably a mistake – for although it was excellent and it was good to hear Steve Rayner – after having read him but I realised that perhaps the energy seminar was more relevant to me. However, that’s life at a conference.

The evening was spent mixing and I went to a book launch. Lots of wine on hand and to complete the cliché, cheese. However, I was too pooped to party for long and left early, taking some pictures of the building in the dark on the way back. Jet lag and the 5am start really caught up with me.

When its all over I will think about the papers I’ve heard and write about them.

 

Leave a comment